Mar 21

World Book day 2018

I love World Book Day. You have all them children talking about the books they love and dressing up as characters they would love to be – it’s helping Children’s literacy by having fun! What could be better?!

The only problem this year was that the snow came….boy did it come! School was closed – booo!

Thankfully our school knew how much the children were looking forward to it (and how much time and effort parents had put into costumes) so they rearranged it for the Friday just gone!

This time around my two chose costumes that were not too difficult to put together, but were definitely the characters from their current favourite books!

Mouse is the biggest fan of Bear Grylls and his series of books for kids ‘Bear Grylls Adventures'; she is reading one after the other and flies through them – I need them to release the next ones quicker to keep up with her! So, when asked which character she wanted to be, her answer came quick and firm ‘Bear Grylls’.

Monkey was a reluctant reader in a previous phase of his life, but more recently he is always reading. He absolutely loves the Etherington Brothers who he first met at Nottingham Comic Con and he discovered the series of books ‘Freaky and Fearless’ written by Robin Etherington.

He has read all three books and is now re-reading them. Love the passion he has for these books, his character had to be ‘Simon’ in his outfit from book one!

IMG_4718I am looking forward to seeing these two dive more and more into books and I can only imagine what cthe costume will be next year!

Mar 05

David Walliams Billionnaire Boy Puzzle Review and Competition

What a week! It was our first week back at school after the half term and Monday saw an inset day. We were looking forward to World Book Day and had discussed at length options and planned costumes for the celebrations at school. However, the weather had other ideas, after a shed load of snow, Thursday and Friday became non school days and World Book Day Celebrations were postponed.

I love World Book Day and what it has done for promoting reading in children. I believe in the importance of reading and have shared books with my two since the day they were born. As my son got a little older he became a reluctant reader, he still had the love of books but almost became scared to read them.

We have come through that now and he always has his nose in a book. Things like World Book Day have helped with this as it helped him hear about what his friends are reading and discover new books, comics and other things with words!

So, my Thursday came and although there was no school my two little book worms were determined for the Book day fun to not be postponed though. After a little play in the garden and getting really cold we were confined to the house, but we weren’t going to be bored!

We were lucky enough to be sent a puzzle with a book theme to have a go with and tell you what we think! Photo 01-03-2018, 11 54 35This puzzle depicts Billionaire Boy from the fantastic world of David Walliams and I have to share, we are already massive fans of David and his books! Mouse is the biggest puzzle fan in the house, so I was surprised when it was Monkey who completed this first, he said he was just going to start it but enjoyed it so much that he just kept going. Photo 01-03-2018, 15 13 13

There is 250 pieces, the pieces are a good size and are not too thin (something I have found with other puzzles aimed at children – there get torn far too easily). The picture is awesome, showing both pictures and quotes, it was great to see Monkey (and later Mouse) reading the quotes as they completed each one – a perfect activity for World Book Day!Photo 02-03-2018, 15 29 57

The puzzle is from a lovely range from Paul Lamond and there are other David Walliams Book puzzles available too; Gansta Granny, The boy in a dress and Mr Stink. Would we recommend this for others, well that is a big yes!! Both Monkey and Mouse have said that they think their friends would love it and say that they would love to own the others in the series too.Photo 02-03-2018, 15 29 41

Would you like to own your own copy of the Billionaire Boy Puzzle?

I am able to offer one reader a copy of the puzzle. If you would like the chance of being the person to win a puzzle for themselves, then please take a look at the gleam widget below and complete as many actions as you would like. The more actions you complete, the more entries you get. Good luck!!

David Walliams Billionaire Boy Puzzle

Dec 22

Do you love Games? Gift Guide

We love playing games all year round and there is even more game playing time over the Christmas, it brings us together and we always have fun. I also know that many people are still Christmas Shopping and/or looking for fun things to do for New Year, So I thought I would put together a brief guide for games to buy others or play yourself, take a look!

The classic of Top Trumps is a quick and simple – with so many topics there is a pack for everyone. Top trumps is easy to play, deal out the cards and try and collect all the cards by beating the other player’s score. To add to the fun there have been some retro cards released; choose from Crazy Cars,Strikers, Fantasy, Exotic Cars or two sets of Horror. We were sent the fantasy set to try and it is brilliant!

Pass the Pigs is an awesome game, I played it loads when I was growing up and now can play with the kids. We have had the classic game for a long time and have had many fun nights, throwing the pigs to see how they land! There are now other versions too – Pass the Pigs Party – similar to the classic game with added vibrant colours and cards that you need to match the position too and Giant Pass the pigs = played with two giant inflatable pigs! We love playing this and I think Giant Pass the pigs is going to be the game of Christmas!Pass The Pig_master

We have had Bananagrams for a year now and we have played it over and over again. A fast paced word game that is suitable for children and adults to play. You have some letter tiles and you have to build linked words in front of you – collecting letters as ‘peel’ is shouted until the tiles are gone. It is a lot of fun and often brings a lot of giggles too! 25674963_10159826714325445_1999048060_o

We bought Dobble after a recommendation from a friend and we have loved it since. You are dealt some cards and have to match symbols to the middle card. The idea is to get rid of your cards first.we play it at home, at friends and even out and about. The game comes in a handy tin that makes it portable and it can go on your travels with you!25829844_10159826714545445_1163546077_oBellz is another great quick game that is suitable for children and adults alike – each player has a colour and you use the double-ended magnet to collect your bells. It is easy to play, fun to play and the mat turns into a travel pouch! It is brilliant and always goes on holiday with us!
 is a new game to us this year; it is for 14 years old plus which is appropriate because it is a little difficult. The idea is you guess your teams film, year of release and the accent you are saying it in (all dictated by the cards you draw). It is a laugh, we were terrible at getting the right answers but it was the biggest laugh we have had in a long time! It is brilliant!25993134_10159826714750445_249698595_o

I hope you have a fantastic Christmas and a Very happy New Year, let me know what games you will be playing – we are always on the lookout for new ones!

HeaderNewDisclaimer: I was sent an Accentuate and a pack of Fantasy Top Trumps to tell you about them. This doesn’t change the fact that we had loads of fun playing them.

Dec 06

Comics for Christmas – Gift Guide

This year I have found myself reading a lot of Comics and do you know what?! They are awesome!

Husband is a massive fan of comics and has been as long as I have known him and it seems to have rubbed off on me. To be honest, I think one of the main reasons I love them is because they have turned our reluctant reader into a book worm!

Christmas is coming up fast and we always buy the children books, so this led me to think about what Comics would make good Christmas Presents or Stocking fillers and here is what I came up with – welcome to my first Gift Guide for 2017 – Comics for Christmas! This is a list of five comics that I have enjoyed that would be suitable for children too!HeaderNew




24879168_10159757452515445_1811291192_oThe first one is ‘Outlaws: Wanted’ – the all ages Charity Comic produced by Nottingham Comic Con; it features a whole load of artists and writers including Marc Laming (Star Wars, Planet Hulk, X-Men), Roger Langridge (The Muppets, Thor, Popeye), The Etherington Bros (Long Gone Don, Baggage, The Phoenix Comic), Steve Beckett (The Beano) and Laura Howell (The Regular Show, Angry Birds, The Beano).

It is full of different comics to make to laugh and giggle and is brilliant to share with the little ones too! To make it even better during the season of goodwill – all monies go to Charity. It was funded on Kickstarter earlier in the year so the whole £5.00 heads to help people.


24879062_10159757452495445_1709197221_oComing from Level 8 Comics is Late Knights; written by Jon Laight and illustrated by Matt Strott (both people I think are awesome and have loads of talent) – this is a fantastic all ages/kids comic.

The story follows the Late family – a family of spies – who with their skills and gadgets are on a mission to protect the world. With Baddies like Miss Fur Frost and Chamelgran, you can be sure of a lot of fun!

Both Monkey and the Mouse have read this and they absolutely love it, they can’t wait for the next one in the series! A perfect comic for younger readers or those young at heart!



24879197_10159757534025445_1874305760_oThe Etherington Brothers are an immense force in the land of kids comics; they are full of passion for comics and have some serious talent!

We have a lot of their books but for this list I am going to tell you about Baggage. Featuring Randall – a happy-go-lucky but disaster-prone lost property officer, this is a tale of adventure, hilarity and mystery. It is brilliant fun and Monkey has read it over and over again!

Check out their other comics too, they have something for kids of all ages!



Next up is Brain Shoodles from Emily B Owen. This comic does have a serious undertone and a grown up theme of Anxiety and Depression but I have included it as I think it is a perfect read for your teenagers – in the area I work in I see depression in children, so anything that can help is good in my book.

Brain Shoodles is written in such a way that it is entertaining but also helpful! Simple but awesome images are used to illustrate the points and the bonus is you will have some laughs along the way too! Perfect for a stocking filler or buy it for yourself!



24957129_10159757452770445_2586187_oLast but not least is a little festive, I picked this up at a Comic Con and I love it. A Christmas Carol done by Joe Matthews and Dave McCluskey. It is a beautifully illustrated version of the classic tale, it is lots of fun and lovely read. I love comics that take a classic and make it modern and it works wonders with our Reluctant reader.

It is more pricey than some other comics at £10 but I would definitely say it is worth it.


Keep your eyes peeled for comics; they make great stocking fillers, perfect pressies and they have a practical role is encouraging reading! It has worked for Monkey– he always has his head in a book or comic now!


Disclaimer: I am involved in the Notitngham Comic Con but my opinion of Outlaws: Wanted is an honest one – we were very lucky with the people who contributed! I bought the other comics at various comic cons!



Dec 01

Competition – Win Pass the Pigs!

I love Pass the pigs! I grew up with it  and we often played it as a family. I was shocked to find that my husband had never heard of it when we got together, but now it is played often in our house and it is great – the kids can play too! It is a perfect size for travel too, so it has been on many trips with us and we have introduced it to friends too!Pass the Pigs logo

I am sure you’ll be snorting with laughter if you play with these piggy games for Christmas.  The original party animals, Pass the Pigs, use hilarious pigs for dice. Will you roll a sider or start makin’ bacon? Having fun with friends, on the road entertainment, or just chilling out – the game is on for every pig in the parlour!

Fantastic fun for the whole family, Pass the Pigs is so easy to play. Simply throw the 2 piggies up in the air and see how they land. Compare the pigs landing positions with your scorecard and earn points, the first to 100 wins.Pass the Pigs points

Pass the Pigs comes in a handy travel case, pop into your bag and you are ready for a game anytime, so if you are traveling to see family it’s the perfect entertainment on the go. Pass the Pigs Party are ideal for when you want to play with family and friends at Christmas.Pass The Pig_master

Pass the Pigs 

  • Hours of fun are guaranteed with this exciting Pass the Pigs game. Perfect for taking on the road, the Pass the Pigs game comes in a handy travel case, so there’s never a dull moment to be had!
  • Pass the Pigs is a game of skill for 2-6 players, it comes with a handy carry case, 2 pencils, 2 pigs and a pocket-sized score card.
  • Suitable for ages 3+ and available for £9.99rrp.Pass The Pig Party_master

Pass the Pigs party

  • The version for party animals! Now there are EIGHT pigs in the game to play with. Roll your piggies to try and be first to match the position on your card, get bonus points if you do it on your first go! Be the first to rack up 100 points. £14.99rrp.
      • 8 small plastic piggies (four pairs)
      • Deck of 30 cards
      • Carry case


If you fancy a chance at winning your own Piggy fun, follow the Gleam Widget options below to enter. The winner will win a copy of Pass the Pigs Original and Pass the Pigs party!

Pass the Pigs Competition

Terms and Conditions: Judges Decision is final.  Only valid entries will be counted. Winners will be notified and they have 48 hours to claim their prize. In the case of no claim a new winner will be drawn!  The prize will be dispatched direct from supplier. Winners will win one copy of Pass the Pigs Original and one copy of Pass the Pigs Party.Competition is open to UK only. This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with, Instagram or Facebook. Disclosure: I will be sent samples to host this giveaway. I have used the pictures in this post with permission.

Nov 17

#JingleMingle with Prezzy Box

Anybody who knows me well knows I love Christmas; I love everything about it and I am constantly trying to bring forward the day that we put the tree up (as husband tries to push it further away!)

So when I was invited to spend a Christmas Themed evening with Prezzy Box a couple of weeks ago –  it just escalated my excitement level even more, i do not need an excuse to talk Christmas in October but it is good to have one.Photo 26-10-2017, 18 53 48

So, a couple of weeks ago I joined several other bloggers and headed to Baresca in Nottingham (which is lovely and we will definitely be visiting again) to enjoy a festive evening!

On arrival I was pleased to see that the room had been decorated as if Christmas had arrived all ready – the tree was up and there was lots of present ideas’s to see!

There were workshops running too, I took part in the Christmas Wrapping workshop  and had so much fun. Carolyn was brilliant and showed us lots of ideas of how to wrap you pressies without spending and small fortune and they still look fantastic! I made my own bow and it is definitely something I am going to do at Christmas!

I then moved on to a ‘Make your own Fragrance’ session with The Perfume Studio.  It was brilliant we were told all about how it works and how different blends are smelt – it was really interesting! I, along with the others, were able to make our own fragrance there and then and even got to name it!

I was delighted to see as well that you can buy ‘at home’ sets, a perfect gift maybe!

I really enjoyed this session; I think it is a brilliant idea for birthdays, hen nights, girls nights and a regular night!

I had a lovely evening out and it really got me in the mood for Christmas!

We were lucky to listen to some hints and tips from the lovely Becky Sheeran (you tube star from Talk Becky Talk) and Prezzy Box.  The rest of the evening was spent with a glass of prosecco, nibbles and checking out the pressies. I got lots of ideas for those I have to buy for this year – here are some of my favourites (all available from Prezzy Box).

Disclaimer: The event I went to was free and I was given a goody bag to take home, however I was not obliged to write this post, just wanted to tell you about the nice evening I had!

Nov 13

Review – JoJo Siwa Bow and Microphone

I have managed to miss a lot of ‘trends’ with Mouse, she is more into sports than anything.  However, JoJo Siwa is a big thing in the world of Mouse and her friends, they love her singing, her fashion and her youtube channel. We were sent some JoJo merchandise to take a look at and to give you an honest review of – I was sue they were going to be a hit!Photo 11-11-2017, 13 15 45When the JoJo Siwa Bodacious Bow and Light up Microphone arrived Mouse was absolutely delighted. She has been looking at JoJo Bows and was so chuffed to now own her own. Also being a lover of singing the microphone held as much excitement.

The Bodacious Bow is styled just like the ones that JoJo is famous for. They come in lots of different bright and beautiful colours – we were sent a blue one with silver hearts on it and it is lovely! I really like the colour and Mouse loves it. Attached to it is also a rainbow coloured hair extension.

The bow is put easily into the hair using the clip on the back (like an alligator clip)  and the colour matches the bow. Both the material and the hair is soft, Mouse loves wearing it and it hasn’t irritated her at all.Photo 11-11-2017, 18 14 38

Mouse loves this bow and I can see it becoming a key part of her wardrobe. Mouse admires JoJo and has said that it is nice to be able to have something that is like a famous person you like who sings good! I know that this Bow will feature on Mouse’s Christmas list – she will need different colours of course!

The light up microphone is a one piece toy; it is made from plastic and is a real working microphone. You need 2 x AAA batteries, but that is all the set up you need.

The top of the microphone lights up and you can press a button to sing along to JoJo’s hit boomerang. Alternatively you can connect it to your MP3 player and sing along to another song.

Mouse couldn’t wait to get singing on the microphone – with her bow in her hair she felt like she was JoJo Siwa! We had some minor problems with feedback from the microphone but we think this was from being too close to it when singingPhoto 11-11-2017, 18 17 53I wasn’t sure whether the microphone was going to be a bit of a novelty, but so far it has been picked up and played with loads. Mouse really does love to see and anything that she can sing into is going to be a bonus. It is a sturdy plastic decorated with a lovely pink bow and has been dropped on our living room floor but has not broken.

I think these are going to be very popular over the coming months – especially for Christmas – and Mouse agrees, she says that lots of her friends would like them!

Both the microphone and the Bodacious Bow have a RRP of £14.99 and can be found in several toy shops.

Nov 10

Mi-Mic Review

If you had asked me a while ago if I would voluntarily introduce something that would make the children louder, let’s say something like a microphone into the house – I would have laughed my socks off.

However, it turns out that when you have a daughter who loves singing, a son who loves gadgets and parents who love to see them smile  – you jump at the chance to introduce a microphone (a bluetooth microphone) to the home when offered one for review with a great big ‘YES!’

So, The Mi-Mic from Toyrific arrived and from the moment it did, it had us all excited, especially our little performer – Mouse!!Photo 31-10-2017, 20 55 35You can buy the microphone in three colours; Pink, Black or Silver. In the box you get the bluetooth Karaoke Microphone speaker with removable microphone stand, a USB charging lead and the instructions.

The Microphone is really easy to use; it runs on an internal battery that is easily charged vis the USB lead. You switch on the microphone by holding down the Power button, it is announced that the Mi-Mic is on, pair with a bluetooth device (phone, tablet etc) and you are ready to go. Once I had paired the Mic with my device, it connected automatically next time we switched it on.

The linking by bluetooth allows you to play any song from your device through the Microphone speaker, so all you have to do is sing along!Photo 31-10-2017, 20 58 29There are several things you can do direct from the microphone. You can alter the volume, play and pause songs and even skip to the next or last song. We have had quite a bit of fun with the echo function – pretend to be real life pop stars and even the platform at the train station!

The LED lights are on the bottom, in a ring around the speaker and they really add something to the Mic. The lights can be off, on as one solid colour or flashing, they really add something.

This microphone is a whole Karaoke package – speaker, Mic and disco lights – it is brilliant! We have had loads of fun with it and when I say ‘we’ I do mean all of us! We have used it at home most evenings this week, Mouse has given of several different types of performance, we have sung together and we have even used it just as a speaker.

Last weekend we headed to friends for a bonfire night party, knowing there would be several kids we took the Mi-Mic with us and it went down a storm. It provided the entertainment and stopped people getting bored – My friend even did a song between courses at the dinner table which bought a smile!

Photo 31-10-2017, 20 58 13We love the Mi-Mic; I can see it being used here for a long time! I love that it isn’t too clunky, which means it is easy to move around (and take out and about with us) and easy to store.

The fact it is charged by a normal USB has meant that if we misplace the wire (which we may have done temporarily) we have plenty others from phones that are compatible.

I think this is a perfect gift for those who love to sing and can see it being on lots of lists for Christmas!!

You can find it available from several good toy shops, for more information visit Toyrific on their social media here – Facebook and Twitter

Oct 30

Chocolate Egg Suprise!

I recently went to Manchester for Blog on Xmas and it was great (I will tell you more about that at another time), whilst I was there I discovered the Chocolate Egg Surprise and knew that it would be something my kids would want to get their hands on!

So, when I was offered one to test run, you bet I said a very quick yes!Photo 25-10-2017, 14 19 19

The Chocolate Egg Surprise Maker is from Jakks and suitable for ages 6 +. There are 24 pieces in the box; the chocolate egg surprise maker, 1 dispenser, 2 egg moulds, 4 capsules (2 each of pink and blue), 10 chocolate measuring bags and 6 foils – to decorate. Photo 25-10-2017, 14 22 16The chocolate Egg maker is really simple to use if you follow the instructions; they are clear and are done by step by step. The first thing you do is measure out your chocolate and place in the measuring bag. You then put the bag in warm water and leave for ten minutes or so whilst the chocolate melts. I have never melted chocolate like this before, but it was really effective! Photo 25-10-2017, 14 31 21 (1)The Monkey and The Mouse were loving that they could do it without any help. While we waited for the chocolate to melt they filled the capsules to surprise each other – of course they wanted to fill their chocolate with sweets, however, you can put anything in it – bracelets, blind bag characters, trinkets, notes Photo 25-10-2017, 14 33 54Once your capsule is full of goodies, place it in an egg mould and lock it up, then place into the egg maker – this is nice and simple just push into the slot! 

You then take the bag of melted chocolate and snip off the top and place the head of the dispenser into it, securing it in place and then placing it in the hole at the top if the Egg maker. You push down on the plunger and the chocolate spreads down into the mould and covers your capsule. There is something strangely satisfying about seeing the chocolate slowly surround the capsule.

Photo 25-10-2017, 14 40 49Once completely covered you pull the mould back out of the maker and place the whole thing in the freezer to set the chocolate. Once set you can free the egg and cover in the foil to make it look pretty before you give to the lucky recipient. The monkey and The mouse exchanged eggs and were so happy with the result. It was an egg made from thick yummy chocolate and with a lovely surprise inside! What could be more fun!

The only down fall I found was that some of the pieces (not all) were a little tricky to clean so that job got left up to me!Photo 25-10-2017, 15 44 14We absolutely loved spending time together making chocolate Eggs and will definitely be doing it again, the children already have a list of people they want to make eggs for. This is a great kit, easy to use and easy to store. I would definitely recommend this as a fun thing to do, would be a perfect gift too.

Available from all good toys stores.

Oct 01

My Sunday Photo

Ok so his is actually my 3 Sunday photos, but I couldn’t decide which one to share! We have had a busy week this week, work, training, preparing for the up and coming Nottingham Comic Con and celebrating birthdays! The last one has meant a week of nice food and the meal we had out at the local pub was delicious, we had a great night filled with giggles too!


Older posts «