Jan 04

Bye Bye 2016

Another year ended and so much has changed, things have happened (not all good), lots of well-known people have passed on and the kids have got older.

My blog has suffered as some things I wanted to blog about I couldn’t and other times things impacted me and I had major writers block. I was going to write a post to try to get it all out but instead I am going to look back on happy times and look at how the kids have grown!15871108_10158088895010445_898750835_nMonkey entered the year as a shy, unconfident 7-year-old. His learning had taken a bit of a hit in year three and he felt he wasn’t good at much. In March he turned 8 and we have seen him grown up very quickly; both physically (jumping 2 clothes sizes and catching up with peers) and mentally; he is developing his personality and his more grown up attitude. Monkey has started new clubs at school that are helping with his confidence too; basketball puts a big smile on his face and French Horn shows him he is really good at something.

Currently majorly into MineCraft, Pokemon and Dan TDM he is very similar to most of the boys in his year at school and to top it off in the proud mummy stakes – his learning has gone back up, massively and he is doing awesome thanks to a Teacher who focusses on encouragement and changing styles with different children.15870638_10158088909590445_238270238_n

Mouse started the year as a 5-year-old, hadn’t even been in school for a year because of the delay starting – you wouldn’t have known though, the girl does love learning. Now she is developing a ‘6 going on 16′ attitude, don’t get me wrong; she is really well-behaved – just very independent. Mouse has taken up Gymnastics and has found she is a natural, she loves it and will be continuing this year. She continues to be my ‘princess that likes mud’ (not sure that will ever change), some days she is doused from head to toes in pink and sparkly things, the next in her football kit pretending to be a Pokemon hunter climbing rocks.

Currently her favourite things are Shopkins, Pokemon and Disney infinity – I think we might have a Disney Fan girl on our hands in the future!IMG_2720

We have had lots of good times over the year, a fab holiday with awesome friends in Tenerife, Parties, days out and a new job for hubby. We have made new life long friendships and strengthen old ones, my mum got engaged to a man that makes her smile and the husband and I ran another successful Nottingham Comic Con. I always think pictures speak louder than words, so here is a collection of fun!

There have been things i would rather not think about but ultimately they add to your past to grow you, hubby and I got through them together and we have an awesome family. We are lucky that everyone we love made it through and we have our health.

Here is to a great 2017 for all!

Dec 16

A Movie Gift Guide for Her…

As I published a gift guide all about movies for him yesterday, it is only fair that I do a ‘for her’ guide too! There are many reasons I need a ‘for her’ movie; girl’s night, chilling out on my own night and date night (if the hubby is feeling generous to let me pick the film).

Warner Bros.is on hand; there are some real heartwarming films in their range for the ladies in your life!for-her-6-dec-v1

Lets start with a good old Romantic Comedy – Me Before You. A young girl gets a new job and forms an unlikely bond with the paralysed man she is caring for. I love watching a Rom-Com, seeing the story build, playing with your emotions. This is a definite watch for the next girls night; PJs, Popcorn and romance, what more could you want!

The Intern is about working in the world of fashion, the twist is that a 70-year old widower has decided to come out of retirement and become the intern in the company. Although it sounds like a straight film, it promises to be filled with fun and laughs.

The one I will be saving to watch with the other half is The Heart of the Sea, based in the real-life maritime disaster that inspired Moby Dick.  This film follows the story of the surviving crew after a whale of huge size and power sinks the boat they are on. Full of action and adventure I am sure that I can convince hubby to pull up a chair and watch with me.

Now to the classic of Wizard of Oz – just in case you don’t know the plot; Dorothy gets swept away into a magical land when a tornado hits her town, along the way she meets some fun characters and has lots of fun whilst she tries to get back home. If you haven’t seen it, it is one to watch, if you have seen it, it is one to watch again! Perfect for if you have a film night with the kids too!

Last but by no means least we have How to Be Single – this promises to have you laughing your socks off, it stars Rebel Wilson who always has me giggling. Four young women navigate themselves around New York and the world of love. The best way to describe it is probably Chick flick with added fun. I can not wait to watch this one! for-her-6-dec-v1 2

 

You can buy all of these here.  Warner Bros. has the ultimate selection of films – not just for the female of the species, check them out I bet you will find something you would like!

Dec 14

A Movie Gift Guide for Him…

Less than two weeks to go until the big day – *does a little dance* – It’s Christmas time!! I love Christmas and I love spending the time with my family and friends!  Before we get to the fun of Christmas day there is the shopping to finish and if you are anything like me there are definitely a few relatives of the male variety left to buy for!

Warner Bros. to the rescue – who doesn’t love a good film?!

Films feature heavily in our Christmas time, we have a Christmas film for putting up the tree, we have film nights with the kids, snuggled up with Popcorn and a blanket and the hubby and I have film nights to chill out after all the wrapping and generally spend some time together outside of the festive madness!for-him-6-dec-v1_1

In this gift guide I am going to tell you about some awesome movie ideas for the men in your life (truthfully they might be good for the women in your life too, there are definitely a couple on my list!).

.
Superhero films are becoming more and more popular; Batman Vs. Superman is one of those films the hubby and I regret not seeing at the cinema so are definitely looking forward to the DVD being under the tree.  I never thought that there would be two of my favourite superheroes at war with each other and as you can imagine it just opens up scope for other threats to the people and this puts mankind in greater danger than it’s ever known! What will happen?! This promises to be full of excitement and action and we will definitely be watching this Christmas!

Creed is not something I would choose to watch, but I know my hubby and his friends would definitely be into it; it is an American sport drama and full of manly attractions – sport, action, Rocky Balboa…..yes Rocky Balboa is back as a trainer for his former opponents son! Promises to be a good watchfor-him-6-dec-v1_1

Following a series of unconventional robberies targeting international financial markets, a FBI agent goes undercover to join a group of extreme sports athletes in Point Break this is a remake of the fantastic 1991 film and is definitely worth a watch!

Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Depp are two of my favourites, the other half thinks they are good actors too. Both are in Black Mass – Depp playing real-life serial killer James ‘Whitey’ Bulger in this biographical crime drama. Real-life based movies have so much to learn in them, find out more about the story and be entertained at the same time!

In Mad Max Fury Road, a women rebels against a tyrannical ruler who is enslaving apocalypse survivors, she makes a daring escape with some female prisoners and a drifter called Max. Full of action it is bound to keep you watching till the end, I think with the violence in it though I will leave this one to a boys night!

I know there is now too many to choose from isn’t there, this is a great bunch of films but to make it more difficult Warner Bros. have loads more on offer; whether you’re looking for him, for her, or for festive favourites to get the whole family in the Christmas spirit!!  Make someone’s christmas, get them a film that can turn into an evening of fun!

All can be bought from HMV and would make good stocking fillers or main presents. A film is not a short-term gift as you can re-watch the fun over and over!  With these thrill seekers all you have to do is sit back and enjoy the adventure!

You have a chance to win this bundle yourself if you head to my twitter and Retweet this tweet (ends 21/12/16)

Nov 23

Review of Bellz

We love games, board games, video games, even made up games; especially this time of year when it is darker in the evening and we just want to cosy down each night with something fun. We were very happy to add Bellz from Spinmaster to our collection and give it a test run!Photo 17-11-2016, 18 57 58When the game arrived the kids couldn’t wait to play. The bells definitely attracted them to it.  In the box you get 40 bells, a double ended magnet and a travel pouch. The bells come in different sizes and in four different colours, they are fairly light but not too flimsy. The magnet has a smaller magnet one end and a stronger one the other and the travel pouch actually becomes the playing board too. Photo 17-11-2016, 18 58 47The idea of the game is to collect all of your own colour (of which there are 10) but you are not allowed to collect any other colour. You take it in turns until one of you has all your colour. You can select which magnet you use – sometimes the bigger one is too strong for what you are going for so you need the weaker one. Photo 17-11-2016, 18 59 47It is a simple game to play and it is also a lot of fun. The rules are simple and children can follow well. I love the fact that we can play as a family or the kids (aged 6 and 8) can play just the two of them.  You can simplify it further by just playing who can collect the most bells (regardless of colour).

The travel pouch is fantastic for storage (everything fits in) and is a great size for travel. We will definitely be taking it when we go away to hotels or to families houses to keep the kids entertained. Photo 17-11-2016, 19 02 48The Monkey and the Mouse often get it out to play and I only know because of the bells jingling and the giggling! They have so much fun playing it and has said that they definitely think other children would love it too!

Nov 19

Country Kids in Kent

Last weekend we have a fab weekend away visiting friends, it was so nice to catch up and watch Monkey and Mouse interacting with their gorgeous little boy. Another thing it did was reignited a want for fresh air. I haven’t joined in Country Kids for ages, not for a lack of want – just circumstance.

Last weekend we made two visits to the wood to walk their lovely dog. We built Dens, looked at mushrooms, ran, walked and played on rope swings (even I had a go). It was awesome!!

Here is some snaps, they are not the best photos as it was drizzling with rain. The rain didn’t matter though it was just good to be outside, to have fun and to breathe!

Country Kids

Nov 18

Photos of Furby #FurbyFriday

We have been really lucky that we have had a Furby Friend with us over the past few weeks, to be fair I haven’t seen him much – he has been off with Monkey and Mouse having fun.

Monkey particularly has taken to him and has been doing all sorts with him, I will do a full review next week but Monkey has been taking some photos, so I thought I would share them! 15134245_10157826528405445_1936640115_nMonkey loves to teach the furby music, furby ‘dances and sings’ along and they have so much fun together, he has even had a go at the French Horn!! There is a video of this fun on my instagram too! 15151416_10157826528480445_2097823453_nKeep your eye out for the review!

Nov 02

Nottingham Comic Con

Last weekend saw Nottingham Comic Con’s 4th event; it is an event that hubby and I organised and run (with an awesome team of volunteers made up of family and friends who support our big ideas). This year was incredible, so many people have told us that they had a blast and that they can’t wait till next year.

The aim is to celebrate small press comics and individuals who are out there making their own, we have some professional artists join us too and we raise money for charity. It is an awesome day and so much fun. I am absolutely shattered from it but it is totally worth it.

In the future I am going to blog about some of the awesome artists we have with us and some of the comics I have discovered through doing this awesome event (I tell you 15 years ago I would have laughed if you said I would be interested in comics).

So for now, here is a small selection of photos from the day!

These are but a few photos, there are more. You will notice that some are by Tom and Charlotte Martin , they were the photographers for the day and did an amazing job – please do check them out!

Nov 02

Brightlings Review

Mouse (like many other children I guess) has a biggish collection of dolls that seems to be ever increasing, She loves her dolls and loves to have more dolls when she finds something a little different from the ones she has. 14914562_10157739382385445_692392370_nBrightlings are interactive Plush dolls that sing and talk, they come in three colours (Pink, Purple and Teal) and they are sooooo cute! Mouse was very happy when ours arrived, especially because she was pink and she named her ‘Sparkle’ – immediately they were friends. Monkey thought that it was a bit young for him and a bit ‘girly’.

The Brightling requires 3 x AAA which were included (a major plus point in my eyes as it means you can play as soon as you get it).  Her face lights up and the mouth ‘moves’ when she speaks or sings. 14963044_10157740496455445_371533108_n

There are three modes to use the Brightling in –  ‘Play’, ‘Music’ and ‘Repeat’ and Mouse enjoys them all!

In the play mode your Brightling talks, she says loads of different things (over a hundred phrases) and I quite often hear Mouse and Sparkle chatting away in what seems like a conversation. When in Record sparkle can record and repeat what you say and when in Music mode; the brightling creates songs in different styles.  Mouse loves to hear Sparkle Beatbox!

In fact Mouse loves to do almost anything with Brightling, she knows that the bath probably wouldn’t be good though because of the batteries! 14914599_10157740495260445_1519403077_n

The Brightling is really easy to use, her hands, ears and tummy hold buttons that you use to make her do things and she provides lots of fun. Her voice can change  tones by the direction you hold her in and her face lights up bright and several different colours!

Although her the front of her head/face is hard, she is soft enough to cuddle, her body is all push and squidgly. I quite often find Sparkle in Mouse’s bed with her, snuggled up and being cuddled. 14914594_10157740495935445_999469073_nThe Brightling is very well made and doesn’t look like she will fall apart or break anytime soon. There are no parts on her that are worrying and being aimed at 4 years and up is perfect. The best thing about the Brightling dolls are that they are a little bit unique, we have not seen anything looking like them before and the fact that you can interact with them make them even more fun!

Sorry for the bad quality video (and the fact it seems to have recorded in portrait) but I just wanted to show you a brief clip of the sound and fun of the Brightling.

Mouse genuinely loves her new doll, she likes the fact she is different to her others dolls, that she can talk to her and that she is pink! When I asked her what she thought about her, she said that ‘sparkle is the best!’ and that she was ‘awesome’. Another favourite from Spinmaster – and definitely one that is going to be loved for a long time!

Nov 01

Airhogs Remote Control Thunderbird 2 – Review

3…..2……..1……..Thunderbirds are go!!

Thunderbirds are a classic, something that our parents, Daddy and I and now the kids have all experienced and enjoyed within our child hoods! Of course, they have changed in their look but ultimately it is the Thunderbirds and they are fantastic!

The Airhogs Remote Control Thunderbird 2 arrived in the house and I am not sure who was more excited the kids, Daddy or Grampsy!! 14958803_10157738605885445_1044123206_nIn the box you get the Thunderbird itself, a remote control and a cable.  Within the remote control there is another cable. First impressions are good – it looked like a thunderbird and definitely looked like something that the kids would want to get their hands on straight away!14958508_10157738655430445_576820969_n

When we first took it out of the box I was slightly concerned at how durable it would be as it felt really light and looks like it is made of polystyrene. I wondered how many crash landings it would take for it to break.

The remote control takes 4 AA batteries (not included) and you charged the thunderbird from the remote control (via a wire that is attached to it}. This takes a while but not too long; there is a light to indicate when it is finished charging and ready to play with! You can also charge vis the USB cable that is included which can be handy.  14937899_10157738714695445_1743106203_nNext up was to give it a fly………yep I said fly! Underneath it looks a little like what i imagine a hover craft to be like, you switch on both the remote and the ship and then you play. We found that starting on a flat surface (such as a table or Lino floor) is the best, it does work starting on carpet – but not as well. 14958725_10153834216586780_345048635_n

The actual flying has taken some getting used to but now both Monkey and Mouse can do it – practice really does make perfect (I still can’t do it as well as them though).

I needn’t have worried about the durability, the thunderbird has dropped out of the sky quite a few times and spent some time hitting the floor (especially when I am in control or maybe I should say not in control) and so far it has not broken at all, not one bit of damage.

The Thunderbird 2 is aimed at 8 years old and above but I have to say that Mouse (aged 6) has the flying down to a fine art and loves it as much as her 8 year old brother!

We love this toy and already have children in the family saying that it is on their Christmas list; the Monkey and the Mouse are both asking what other flying toys you can get. A firm favourite from Spinmaster! We would definitely recommend it to others.

Oct 25

#FrubesMoves Challenge

This Summer we went to watch the Angry Birds Movie, the Monkey and the Mouse absolutely loved the film and the characters are definitely some of their favourites for the year.
Both Monkey and Mouse love dancing too and actually they are both naturals at it, not really sure who they get it from! Earlier in the year they took part in a talent show and they pulled off some wicked moves including the robot!  They have always loved music and often have been found dancing in places where no one else is dancing!
P5050382They haven’t had any formal lessons, actually they haven’t had any informal ones either!! They learn from others that they know and what they see around them – I have had to reply acts on the TV or internet so they can watch the moves.
I love dancing, I love music, dancing makes me feel young, free and fun. I love a little wiggle in line with the beat, but I dont get to do it very often!
It is funny really because both Daddy and Grampsy say they don’t like dancing but when there is a party or a wedding they both end up busting some moves on the dance floor!03.7 DancingThis photo is of Grampsy, maybe the kids get some moves from him after all! Although they have a lot of awesome moves themselves and they are not shy about showing them off!

Dancing away their energy usually means that Monkey and Mouse end up needing a snack; Frubes have a range of good products that work. Monkey and Mouse love the Frube products and the fact that Angry Birds are on the packaging is a bonus for them! I don’t mind the children having treats but I like food with aspects of ‘good for them’, Frubes have Vitamin D and Calcium – both of which are good for strong bones. Just want my little dancers need!
Frubes have created a squawksome dance-off between the Angry Birds and mischievous Pigs. Staunch enemies in the film, the dance off between the Birds and Pigs means you and your family can settle the feud for good – pick a side and find out who is the ultimate dancer!Screen Shot 2016-10-25 at 23.01.05As a family we choose to egg on the birds every time, I don’t know if thats because we think we are birds or we just like the good guys! You can change the background and the music of your scene and then you select your dancer/s and set them to work.Screen Shot 2016-10-25 at 23.01.36
If you want a go visit angrybirds.frubes.co.uk to see who wins!
“This post is an entry for BritMums’ #FrubesMoves Linky Challenge, sponsored by Frubes < https://angrybirds.frubes.co.uk// >

 

Older posts «