Nov 17

#JingleMingle with Prezzy Box

Anybody who knows me well knows I love Christmas; I love everything about it and I am constantly trying to bring forward the day that we put the tree up (as husband tries to push it further away!)

So when I was invited to spend a Christmas Themed evening with Prezzy Box a couple of weeks ago –  it just escalated my excitement level even more, i do not need an excuse to talk Christmas in October but it is good to have one.Photo 26-10-2017, 18 53 48

So, a couple of weeks ago I joined several other bloggers and headed to Baresca in Nottingham (which is lovely and we will definitely be visiting again) to enjoy a festive evening!

On arrival I was pleased to see that the room had been decorated as if Christmas had arrived all ready – the tree was up and there was lots of present ideas’s to see!

There were workshops running too, I took part in the Christmas Wrapping workshop  and had so much fun. Carolyn was brilliant and showed us lots of ideas of how to wrap you pressies without spending and small fortune and they still look fantastic! I made my own bow and it is definitely something I am going to do at Christmas!

I then moved on to a ‘Make your own Fragrance’ session with The Perfume Studio.  It was brilliant we were told all about how it works and how different blends are smelt – it was really interesting! I, along with the others, were able to make our own fragrance there and then and even got to name it!

I was delighted to see as well that you can buy ‘at home’ sets, a perfect gift maybe!

I really enjoyed this session; I think it is a brilliant idea for birthdays, hen nights, girls nights and a regular night!

I had a lovely evening out and it really got me in the mood for Christmas!

We were lucky to listen to some hints and tips from the lovely Becky Sheeran (you tube star from Talk Becky Talk) and Prezzy Box.  The rest of the evening was spent with a glass of prosecco, nibbles and checking out the pressies. I got lots of ideas for those I have to buy for this year – here are some of my favourites (all available from Prezzy Box).

Disclaimer: The event I went to was free and I was given a goody bag to take home, however I was not obliged to write this post, just wanted to tell you about the nice evening I had!

Nov 13

Review – JoJo Siwa Bow and Microphone

I have managed to miss a lot of ‘trends’ with Mouse, she is more into sports than anything.  However, JoJo Siwa is a big thing in the world of Mouse and her friends, they love her singing, her fashion and her youtube channel. We were sent some JoJo merchandise to take a look at and to give you an honest review of – I was sue they were going to be a hit!Photo 11-11-2017, 13 15 45When the JoJo Siwa Bodacious Bow and Light up Microphone arrived Mouse was absolutely delighted. She has been looking at JoJo Bows and was so chuffed to now own her own. Also being a lover of singing the microphone held as much excitement.

The Bodacious Bow is styled just like the ones that JoJo is famous for. They come in lots of different bright and beautiful colours – we were sent a blue one with silver hearts on it and it is lovely! I really like the colour and Mouse loves it. Attached to it is also a rainbow coloured hair extension.

The bow is put easily into the hair using the clip on the back (like an alligator clip)  and the colour matches the bow. Both the material and the hair is soft, Mouse loves wearing it and it hasn’t irritated her at all.Photo 11-11-2017, 18 14 38

Mouse loves this bow and I can see it becoming a key part of her wardrobe. Mouse admires JoJo and has said that it is nice to be able to have something that is like a famous person you like who sings good! I know that this Bow will feature on Mouse’s Christmas list – she will need different colours of course!

The light up microphone is a one piece toy; it is made from plastic and is a real working microphone. You need 2 x AAA batteries, but that is all the set up you need.

The top of the microphone lights up and you can press a button to sing along to JoJo’s hit boomerang. Alternatively you can connect it to your MP3 player and sing along to another song.

Mouse couldn’t wait to get singing on the microphone – with her bow in her hair she felt like she was JoJo Siwa! We had some minor problems with feedback from the microphone but we think this was from being too close to it when singingPhoto 11-11-2017, 18 17 53I wasn’t sure whether the microphone was going to be a bit of a novelty, but so far it has been picked up and played with loads. Mouse really does love to see and anything that she can sing into is going to be a bonus. It is a sturdy plastic decorated with a lovely pink bow and has been dropped on our living room floor but has not broken.

I think these are going to be very popular over the coming months – especially for Christmas – and Mouse agrees, she says that lots of her friends would like them!

Both the microphone and the Bodacious Bow have a RRP of £14.99 and can be found in several toy shops.

Nov 10

Mi-Mic Review

If you had asked me a while ago if I would voluntarily introduce something that would make the children louder, let’s say something like a microphone into the house – I would have laughed my socks off.

However, it turns out that when you have a daughter who loves singing, a son who loves gadgets and parents who love to see them smile  – you jump at the chance to introduce a microphone (a bluetooth microphone) to the home when offered one for review with a great big ‘YES!’

So, The Mi-Mic from Toyrific arrived and from the moment it did, it had us all excited, especially our little performer – Mouse!!Photo 31-10-2017, 20 55 35You can buy the microphone in three colours; Pink, Black or Silver. In the box you get the bluetooth Karaoke Microphone speaker with removable microphone stand, a USB charging lead and the instructions.

The Microphone is really easy to use; it runs on an internal battery that is easily charged vis the USB lead. You switch on the microphone by holding down the Power button, it is announced that the Mi-Mic is on, pair with a bluetooth device (phone, tablet etc) and you are ready to go. Once I had paired the Mic with my device, it connected automatically next time we switched it on.

The linking by bluetooth allows you to play any song from your device through the Microphone speaker, so all you have to do is sing along!Photo 31-10-2017, 20 58 29There are several things you can do direct from the microphone. You can alter the volume, play and pause songs and even skip to the next or last song. We have had quite a bit of fun with the echo function – pretend to be real life pop stars and even the platform at the train station!

The LED lights are on the bottom, in a ring around the speaker and they really add something to the Mic. The lights can be off, on as one solid colour or flashing, they really add something.

This microphone is a whole Karaoke package – speaker, Mic and disco lights – it is brilliant! We have had loads of fun with it and when I say ‘we’ I do mean all of us! We have used it at home most evenings this week, Mouse has given of several different types of performance, we have sung together and we have even used it just as a speaker.

Last weekend we headed to friends for a bonfire night party, knowing there would be several kids we took the Mi-Mic with us and it went down a storm. It provided the entertainment and stopped people getting bored – My friend even did a song between courses at the dinner table which bought a smile!

Photo 31-10-2017, 20 58 13We love the Mi-Mic; I can see it being used here for a long time! I love that it isn’t too clunky, which means it is easy to move around (and take out and about with us) and easy to store.

The fact it is charged by a normal USB has meant that if we misplace the wire (which we may have done temporarily) we have plenty others from phones that are compatible.

I think this is a perfect gift for those who love to sing and can see it being on lots of lists for Christmas!!

You can find it available from several good toy shops, for more information visit Toyrific on their social media here – Facebook and Twitter

Oct 30

Chocolate Egg Suprise!

I recently went to Manchester for Blog on Xmas and it was great (I will tell you more about that at another time), whilst I was there I discovered the Chocolate Egg Surprise and knew that it would be something my kids would want to get their hands on!

So, when I was offered one to test run, you bet I said a very quick yes!Photo 25-10-2017, 14 19 19

The Chocolate Egg Surprise Maker is from Jakks and suitable for ages 6 +. There are 24 pieces in the box; the chocolate egg surprise maker, 1 dispenser, 2 egg moulds, 4 capsules (2 each of pink and blue), 10 chocolate measuring bags and 6 foils – to decorate. Photo 25-10-2017, 14 22 16The chocolate Egg maker is really simple to use if you follow the instructions; they are clear and are done by step by step. The first thing you do is measure out your chocolate and place in the measuring bag. You then put the bag in warm water and leave for ten minutes or so whilst the chocolate melts. I have never melted chocolate like this before, but it was really effective! Photo 25-10-2017, 14 31 21 (1)The Monkey and The Mouse were loving that they could do it without any help. While we waited for the chocolate to melt they filled the capsules to surprise each other – of course they wanted to fill their chocolate with sweets, however, you can put anything in it – bracelets, blind bag characters, trinkets, notes Photo 25-10-2017, 14 33 54Once your capsule is full of goodies, place it in an egg mould and lock it up, then place into the egg maker – this is nice and simple just push into the slot! 

You then take the bag of melted chocolate and snip off the top and place the head of the dispenser into it, securing it in place and then placing it in the hole at the top if the Egg maker. You push down on the plunger and the chocolate spreads down into the mould and covers your capsule. There is something strangely satisfying about seeing the chocolate slowly surround the capsule.

Photo 25-10-2017, 14 40 49Once completely covered you pull the mould back out of the maker and place the whole thing in the freezer to set the chocolate. Once set you can free the egg and cover in the foil to make it look pretty before you give to the lucky recipient. The monkey and The mouse exchanged eggs and were so happy with the result. It was an egg made from thick yummy chocolate and with a lovely surprise inside! What could be more fun!

The only down fall I found was that some of the pieces (not all) were a little tricky to clean so that job got left up to me!Photo 25-10-2017, 15 44 14We absolutely loved spending time together making chocolate Eggs and will definitely be doing it again, the children already have a list of people they want to make eggs for. This is a great kit, easy to use and easy to store. I would definitely recommend this as a fun thing to do, would be a perfect gift too.

Available from all good toys stores.

Oct 01

My Sunday Photo

Ok so his is actually my 3 Sunday photos, but I couldn’t decide which one to share! We have had a busy week this week, work, training, preparing for the up and coming Nottingham Comic Con and celebrating birthdays! The last one has meant a week of nice food and the meal we had out at the local pub was delicious, we had a great night filled with giggles too!

 Photalife

Sep 30

Speedy Doc Game Review

I have to be honest – we are fast becoming a bit of a gaming family. I am not talking about video gaming, we have discovered a new found love of board/table top games! We are always very excited when we get to try out a new game, and was equally so when we were offered ‘Speedy Doc’ to test drive.

Photo 10-09-2017, 19 49 35

In the box you get the Doc himself, a sheet of different coloured ‘Zeros’ and the instructions. It doesn’t seem much but it is everything you need for the game (apart from batteries). You have to pop the Zero’s from the card and that is it – you are ready to play!Photo 10-09-2017, 19 51 59

So first thing to do is to pop some batteries (3 x AAA) into the Doc, then place the Zero’s in the back – there is a handy storage pocket and finally switch him on using the simple on/off switch on his back!22156652_10159474732680445_1678520860_n

The game itself is a fast paced game that is lots of fun; the box suggests 8 years old plus but Mouse is 7 years old and had no problem joining in with us.

Each round consists of a topic and you take it in turns to say something linked to the topic – just keep going until someone duplicates an answer, says something unrelated to the topic, you run out of time or the Doc tells you to stop!

The Doc runs the game; from telling you who will start, how much time you have, what topic each round is and how many Zero’s the loser takes!22156975_10159473199295445_276535615_nThe Doc runs the game well, he is clear and concise about what he wants (the instructions are always on hand to remind you if you are unsure)!  The game boasts over 500 topics to play (obviously we haven’t got through them all yet).  What we have found is that some topics were a little tough but there is an option to end that one and change topics.

We have had so much fun and a lot of giggles playing this, the kids have even got it out without any prompting, and played just the two of them – without any arguing!! Yep, nice sibling fun without killing each other!

I love the personality of the Doc, he brings more fun to the game and I have found the kids talk back to him. Simple to play means simple to enjoy. Not too big and easy to store! I can’t see a negative!

In fact I can see Doc coming out when the kids are in bed and the adults are looking for something to play with a drink in hand too!22172017_10154708615446780_1897708796_o

Disclosure:

I was not paid to write this review, however I was given the game to keep to be able to test and offer my/our honest opinion on it!

Sep 07

Spider Catcher Review

I am not scared of spiders so I am the resident spider catcher both at home and work; however i wouldn’t touch one by choice so currently my catching equipment of choice is a glass and a piece of card.

Enter the Spider Catcher from Brainstorm21441910_10159372813960445_261376894_nWith the recent news that spiders are coming and they are going to be big, I was very excited to receive this for review, probably more excited than I should be – I mean I can still be the resident spider catcher but be further away from them, it is approximately 65cm long!

In the pack you get the spider catcher, which is long, brush on the end and a handle that you squeeze. The brush has a cover over the brush and there is even a plastic spider in the pack to practice on. 21441932_10159372861500445_580828152_n

 

The spider catcher is really easy to use, it is a sort of a ‘ready, aim, fire!’ strategy. On the opposite side to the brush you have a trigger handle, you gently squeeze and it opens the brush.  You then hold the brush over the spider so the bristles surround it, release the trigger and the brush gently closes around the spider, keeping the little guy safe and sound inside whilst you walk somewhere nice to release him.

To let him go, just press the handle again and the spider will drop out and run away.21552149_10159372947800445_1107800287_nBecause the bristles are soft and harmless to the spider, you can use it to catch the spider when he is stood still or moving about. I was worried the first time I used it to whether I had killed the spider, but when I re-opened he was fine and ran off. I felt a huge sense of relief as I really don’t like to kill things.

I love that the Spider catcher offers you a safe environmentally friendly way to the pest control in your home as no chemicals and batteries are required for the Spider Catcher. 21443028_10159372947720445_483640220_n

Some more good news; you can use it for insects too! The Spider Catcher can catch spiders and daddy-long legs from 2mm (0.08 inch) in length up to 25mm (1 inch).

I love having this in the house and anyone can use it, the children have used it and the spiders have lived!! I would recommend for anyone but especially if you have a bit of a fear of spiders, it gives you a way to move the spiders without toughing them!

Disclosure:

I was not paid to write this review, however I was given the Spider Catcher to keep to be able to test and offer my/our honest opinion on it!

Sep 03

#FeelGoodSummer with Come Round Party

I was recently asked to hold a #FeelGoodSummer with Come Round. I was sent a great party pack to try out the delicious drinks and have some fun with friends! Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 22.22.01The party pack was fab, tea light candles, face masks, bunting, a Lean in 15 book and plenty of Feel Good Drinks to go around! As soon as we saw the flavours of the drinks; we were impressed.

Feel Good infusions are100% natural drinks* with no added sugar and the flavours are ‘Strawberry and Mint’, ‘Apple and Rose’ and ‘Lemon and Elderflower’, the main question was which to try first!

We had loads of fun, putting on facemasks, drinking the drinks and generally having a good old catch up!Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 22.22.52

The drinks are really refreshing and we had some left so took them on a car journey and to work and they worked well in these situations, the kids love them and I don’t mind them drinking them because I feel they are healthier than some of the alternatives.

If you like something a little different then I would recommend these drinks, Lemon and Elderflower is definitely my favourite!21291681_10159356698330445_493448526_n

Aug 20

Sunday Photo

20937819_10159284479410445_212921150_n

Photalife

Aug 19

Little Live Pets Ladybird Review

Little live pets is a range of toys that can give a child the feeling of having a pet without the added mess or the need to feed them to keep them alive. We are very lucky to have been sent the Little Live Pets Lil’ Ladybugs Single Pack and Ladybugs Garden Play set to have a play with and review.Photo 15-08-2017, 18 14 07The Garden play set comes with an exclusive ladybug and a baby and it is a fantastic miniature world for your ladybugs (or ladybirds if you prefer) to explore; with moving parts and ramps it is a lot of fun. The only set up for it is to attach the two white ramps at the front and they slot in easily!

You can buy extra ladybugs in the single packs (which again come with a baby too). Photo 15-08-2017, 18 14 48

Aimed at children 5 years old and older, Mouse (7 years old) could not wait to get her hands on her ‘brand new pets’! Opening it up was a good experience, although certain parts were secured, you only had to twist a couple of plastic bits and the set was free – no having to hunt down scissors or screwdrivers to open it up like we seem to experience loads of at Christmas!

20939047_10159284477725445_69410996_n

Mouse played with it for ages; watching the bugs run around, swapping the babies between the two bigger ones, changing their directions and using the flower lift. I was impressed with how long it kept her entertained and that Monkey wanted to play too! They were making up stories about where the bugs were going and where they might be going.20937690_10159284478600445_2117982010_nThe bugs themselves are motorised and have small brushes on the bottom to help them move, they move really smoothly and stay on the track really well! Mouse has named them and is looking after them as if they are her pets.

I love that it is a toy that promotes using your imagination, although the bugs need batteries the actual playset does not, it is a nice size for storing away and is sturdy enough to actually be used (nothing worse than a toy that breaks as soon as you play with it!).20938880_10159284478220445_1514133340_n

Mouse Says

“It is really good and I love playing with them. I would really like to get more bits and make a bigger world for my ladybirds because they are awesome and they would like to explore some more stuff! I really like the babies too”20979853_10159284478445445_1074405397_n

Little Live Pets isn’t something I would have thought of buying before but now we will defintiely be on the look out for more now and Mouse has started her Christmas list with them!

You can find Lil’ Ladybugs Garden Playset (£22.99) and the Lil’ Ladybugs single packs (£5.99) at various toy shops.

Disclosure:

I was not paid to write this review, however I was given the toy to keep to be able to test and offer my/our honest opinion on it!

Older posts «